News Details



2020: A Vision for the Future | Awards of Excellence Winners

posted on

Friday, July 24, 2020

2020: A Vision for the Future

Awards of Excellence Winner Announcements


Centre Wellington, ON – The annual Awards of Excellence Gala, presented by OLG, was held on Thursday, July 23, in the parking lot at the Grand River Raceway, drive-in movie style.

The original event was to be held earlier this year in May, and planning (including award adjudication) was well underway when everything was put on hold mid-March. Despite moving into Stage 3, it remains unclear whether a gala-style event would be acceptable this year, so the Centre Wellington Chamber of Commerce elected to move forward with this adjusted event.

The event saw approximately 80 cars of nominees, sponsors, and community members gather in the parking lot, with thorough precautions in place including drive through registration and parking every other space. The show featured a live emcee, shown on the 40 foot inflatable screen, and awards were presented using pre-recorded videos from sponsors. Applause to celebrate the nominees and winners was delivered by way of light flashes and horn honks, and was very much embraced by the attendees.

“We are proud to have delivered this unique event to our Centre Wellington business community. We tried to make it as interactive and exciting as possible, and we can’t thank the attendees enough for their enthusiasm and willingness to participate,” comments Sally Litchfield, Event Planner with the Centre Wellington Chamber of Commerce.

Award winners for each of the 15 award categories are below, in the order that they were presented.

Youth Citizen of the Year - Abigail Taylor

Business of the Year - RLB Chartered Professional Accountants

Customer Service Excellence Award - Burke's Tent Rentals

Business Beautification Award - Karger Gallery

Citizen of the Year - Joe Van den Borre

Tradesperson Award - Mark Martin Complete Home Exteriors

Corporate Citizen of the Year - Skyline Group of Companies

Not for Profit Award - Fergus Scottish Festival & Highland Games

Long Service Award - 25 Years

I Love Chocolate

Nick's Quick Delivery

Wilmot Financial Services Inc.

Long Service Award - 40 Years

Derek G. Graham Limited

Elora Festival and The Elora Singers

Noecker Travel Limited

Pryde Truck Service Ltd.

Voyageur Transportation Services

Young Entrepreneur of the Year - Fresh Box Market

Agricultural / Agri-Business Award - Best Baa Dairy Ltd.

Cultural, Arts, Tourism Impact Award - The Grand at 101.1 FM

Environmental Excellence Award - Jefferson Elora Corporation

Community Social Responsibility Award - Save Our Water

President's Award - McKim Ecclestone


The adjusted version of this event would not be possible without the support of the volunteer committee, key partners from the community including OLG, the Grand River Agricultural Society and The Grand at 101, and specialty sponsors Burke’s Tent Rental’s, Mallot Creek Group, Motion Electrical Contracting, RLB, Skyline Group of Companies, and the Township of Centre Wellington.



| Return
Let us help your business


News Archive

Evolved Benefits Plan | 2